Band Player Awards

Stewart Watson Memoral Award
Community Band Bandsperson of the Year

2019Isobel RobertsonConductor
2018Laura ReidTenor Horn
2017Tom PatonTrombone
2016Lorna NobleTrombone
2015Dylan CoolahanSoprano Cornet
2014Lorna NobleTrombone
2013Julian & Rebecca SlaterCornet
2012Lorna & Hannah NobleTrombone & Cornet
2008Hannah VadlerTenor Horn
2007Scott BruceCornet
2005John PirieEuphonium
2000Robert Ralph
1999Ross MurrayEuphonium
1998James Bloice



Stewart Watson

The Stewart Watson Memorial cup was gifted to the band by Stewart’s family, following his death in 1996. The family donated a cup to each of the bands in the city including; Granite City Brass, Aberdeen City Youth Brass Band, and the band Stewart founded, Bon-Accord Silver Band.

Colin Reid Memorial Award
Community Band Musician of the Year

2019Dave BradshawEuphonium
2018Hannah NoblePercussion
2017Susan StewartCornet
2016Molly LeesTenor Horn
2015Hannah NobleEuphonium
2014Jude McGowanTrombone


Colin Reid

Colin Reid

The Colin Reid Memorial Award was purchased by the band in 2014 as a fitting tribute to a percussion player who served the band for many years as a great musician who also served for a period of time on the committee. He passed away in 2007 following a stroke.

Neil Ferguson Memorial Award
GCB Bandsman of the Year

2019Philip EostPercussion
2018Rosie MartinTenor Horn
2017Philip EostPercussion
2016Allan WilsonCornet
2015John BenzieTenor Horn
2014Martin NealeBass Trombone


Neil Ferguson

Neil Ferguson

The Neil Ferguson Memorial Award was again purchased by the band in 2014 to honour a devoted bandsman and friend to many in the band over the years, and a fine musician with a natural affinity for the soprano cornet. He excelled in many roles within the band, including secretary, chairman and fundraising organiser. Neil also served on the committee of the Northern Counties Brass Band Association, culminating in his election as Chairman. It is with this in mind that the Neil Ferguson Award is to be given to the Bandsman of the Year, nominated by the players of the band.

Stewart Gilmour Memorial Award
GCB Musician of the Year

2019Andy PatersonBb Bass
2018Rosie MartinTenor Horn
2017Lewis CattoEuphonium
2016Tom RaffertyCornet
2015James BoultonBaritone
2014Alan HaggartSoprano Cornet


Stewart Gilmour

Stewart Gilmour

The Stewart Gilmour Memorial Award was also purchased by the band in 2014 in memory of a dedicated bandsman and talented musician who played the Flugel horn with great distinction in the band. Stewart had latterly been the band’s chairman, and played in the band through many successes. For 16 years Stewart was Principal Teacher of Music at St Machar Academy but held the post of Deputy Head Teacher at the time of his untimely death aged only 48. Stewart’s musical talent didn’t go unnoticed and in the 2007 national finals 4barsrest wrote: ‘…in the ‘Elegy’ where Stewart Gilmour on flugel was the star that the band showed what it was capable of.’